PDA

View Full Version : spring clean up

woodie08
04-04-2008, 04:19 PM
this is my first year and I bid on two clean up jobs residental. one was 1/4 acer. didn't have fall clean up. with leaves every where & vines around her house with leaves in it. I just guessed how long it would take and told her $150.00 for clean up. and she said yes with out debate.. so I wonder if I could of gotten more. the other bid i put in was $140.00 clean up not as many leaves but wanted lawn maint. service.. I'm a one man crew just figuring around 20.00 hr. I think these are good estamets what ya think?right now its been very wet in cleveland. I've seen some commerial accounts getting clean up & mulch but thats it. really the my question is whats the fastest way to clean up all those wet leaves? I'm thinking wait for it to dry a little but that will likely be in a couple weeks. If those leafs are somewhat dry will the lawnmower suck them up or is there enother option?

TNT LawnCare Inc.
04-04-2008, 08:19 PM
I think $ 20.00 an hour is to low. More like $45-55 a man hour for leaves . Leaves can be very deceiving. A 1/4 acre lot with lots of leaves and in the vines will pile up Quickly. I am Asuming you have a truck ! and a powerful backpack blower. You probably dont have a leaf loader,so the best solo operator method i think would be to tarp the leaves. Get a tarp somewhere around 9X13 blow all the leaves you can to the tarp then rake them on the tarp,drag them to the truck and then heho,pull them up on the truck and dump them,repeat process till done. Tarp the truck bed of leaves and get rid of the leaves at the dump.

columbiaplower
04-06-2008, 04:49 PM
I have a number of quarter acre properties i do fall clean ups for and wouldnt touch them for under $250. I just did a 1/2 clean up which we did in the fall and it was $300 for the touch up. Leaves can take a while especially if you have to haul them away. $50 an hour is a good number to shoot for.

Frue
04-06-2008, 06:17 PM