PDA

View Full Version : Whats the going rate for pricing lawns?

HealyLawns33
04-04-2008, 05:21 PM
Im just getting started with a friend of mine this season and I have a pretty good idea of what the average price is to mow a lawn. I was in the business about 6 years ago, and obviously a few things have changed since then as far as the economy, fuel, etc...

We're not trying to become the biggest company in the area or anything like that, but we would like to think we could make a few bucks this season with 25-30 lawns or so.

Im in Southeastern Mass, so anyone close by, Im interested in your knowledge, advice and so on.
Thanks.

SkyLawncare
04-04-2008, 05:31 PM
I'm just starting out as well. As I begin to realize how expensive it is to run a legitimate business, not to mention the fuel prices lately, I don't think I'll do a residential lawn for less than 35.00. If they want to hire someone for 25.00 then I don't need them as a customer. When you factor in the difference in income between a 30.00 cut, and a 35.00 cut, the difference over the course of a year is substantial. My first concern as a business owner is not to give the customer a screaming deal, my job is to make sure that I can sustain my business and generate a profit so I can continue enjoying what I wake up for in the morning every day. :)

Now, if you have customers pay cash, pay no taxes on income and work uninsured with a push mower, then I guess you could undercut the pros and steal some business that way.

bohiaa
04-04-2008, 06:24 PM
I have been in it for a while now.......

I am about twice as much as most around town, " and have been told so many times "

However, the service I provide includes spraying for ants, spraying around your home,
spraying the lawn for weeds, weeding out the flower beds, trimming the hedges, blowing everything off including the A/C Compressor.....
We provide fert, and when needed we will have your soil samples tested.