PDA

View Full Version : What to do...

JShe8918
04-08-2008, 12:46 AM
Hey i am new to the whole correct way to fert. and care for a yard as far as chemicals... So my yard has greened up alot and some weeds are coming in. The grass is centipede. I applied 15-0-15 today that had some atrazine in it. Do i now need to apply a post emerge to the lawn to kill the weeds or will it hurt my yard. Because post emerge won't kill my centipede or will it?? If i am to apply a post emerge then what should i use? Liquid or Granular and what brand.

Thanx in advance,
jonathan

JShe8918
04-08-2008, 12:07 PM
common 33 views and no replies. please help the new guy. this is only for my personal yard.

Frank Fescue
04-08-2008, 03:14 PM
read a label to see what it will/wont kill.

and enough of this bs that its for your own personal yard

RAlmaroad
04-08-2008, 03:43 PM
[QUOTE=JShe8918;2258215]Hey i am new to the whole correct way to fert. and care for a yard as far as chemicals... So my yard has greened up alot and some weeds are coming in. The grass is centipede. I applied 15-0-15 today that had some atrazine in it. Do i now need to apply a post emerge to the lawn to kill the weeds or will it hurt my yard. Because post emerge won't kill my centipede or will it?? If i am to apply a post emerge then what should i use? Liquid or Granular and what brand.

Thanx in advance,
jonathan[

Jonathan--Well, here goes. Centipede is probably the most sensitive of all turf. Sensitive to most chemical, especially those with 2-4D;mainly the Dicamba in the mix.
You should have applied some Dimension 0-0-7 .10way back in February. This would carry you till mid-summer almost weed free (If there is such a thing) Dimension is your 1st line of defence; and, is a pre-emergent. It will not keep the annual seeds from crabgrass and a lot of other weeds from germination, but will kill the hair root when they do sprout.