PDA

View Full Version : Stick with agreed estimate or not?

Bassman
12-01-2001, 10:03 PM
Should know the answer to this but it's bugging me...
Gave an estimate to a contract annual prospect today. We agreed on price. After re-figuring time involved, came out to app. $25 more per month than agreed on price, (after going home and using the formula for time involved times 40 visits per year etc., etc.) These folks were referred by relatives that are a very lucrative account of mine. I'm a professional and should know that when a price is agreed to, thats the end of story. However, for some reason it's bothering me. Any one have second thoughts after agreeing on contract price? I think I should suck it up and do the job for the first year as I should know what the hell I'm doing when giving estimates and not re-evaluate my numbers later. My problem, not theirs. Comments please.

dj'slawnservice
12-01-2001, 10:20 PM
How bad do you need this job?
How much does an extra $25 a month mean to you ?
I really think that it's not worth haggling over......
just my thoughts

Jim Creager
12-01-2001, 10:46 PM
Heres the Question I ask myself. If I was the customer what would I want done?

On one hand an estimate is AN ESTIMATE, that is a basicaly a FAIR guess of what it will take to do the lawn. If you were $25.00 short on the actual cost would you try to raise the estimate? If yes, then you as a matter of concience should refund the overage that you have on this estimate.

I myself would rather go to a customer and say, Hey I over estimated on your estimate it is going to be 25 bucks less!

That shows your a good honest person.

If what you gave them was a BID well a bid is a bid. that is what you get plus or minus.

Jim

Randy Scott
12-01-2001, 11:08 PM