PDA

View Full Version : Can't start after minimal use

nny2k
04-15-2008, 08:17 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to the world of commercial mowers but got tired of mowing my 3/4 acre property with a 22" mower so I bought a Red-Hawk 48" mower w/ Kohler 18HP engine brand new in August of last year. The mower arrived and was working beautifully. I stored the mower in my garage and this season put in fresh gas and checked the oil and cannot start it. Just to be sure I replaced the spark plug and checked the gap but nothing. The mower won't turn over at all.

Anyone have any thoughts before I retain a local shop. I'm not thrilled about paying to service a mower with less than 10 hours of service.

Thanks in advance

Joe

CLARK LAWN
04-15-2008, 08:43 PM
did you happen to shut the fuel off last year? is it electric start or pull rope? is the choke closing fully?

nny2k
04-15-2008, 08:47 PM
It's pull start and I did open the fuel valve.

Not sure where to check to see if the choke is closing fully but will have a look tomorrow.

Thx

44DCNF
04-15-2008, 09:21 PM
Are you smelling gas when pulling it over? Have you looked at the plug to see if it is wet with gas? If no gas, tap the side of the carb lightly with a screwdriver handle. Sometimes a needle will stick in the seat when stored and wont release to allow fuel in to the carb when it's turned on again.

nny2k
04-15-2008, 10:06 PM
I'm pretty certain I smell gas but what needle are you referring to? Something in the carb or a needle like from a pine tree?

Sorry if I sound like a n00b... I am :laugh:

LarryF
04-15-2008, 10:07 PM
Hi everyone,

The mower won't turn over at all.