PDA

View Full Version : Anyone cut lawn part time?

fullmetalbucket
04-16-2008, 01:11 AM
I've seen a post or two where people mention cutting part time. I work in the petroleum industry by trade but have a mini excavating business I've run on weekends and vacation weeks for the last few years and about 4 years ago I got an asphalt sealing unit and that's been great too. I've got equipment to do lawn work and know of guys who can start working if there is enough overflow to necessitate more hours during the week. I'm not looking to take clients from successful contractors in my area and fully intend to charge a good rate.... I shoot for $75/hr with my bobcat/mini so would likely look to get about a buck a minute onsite for lawn maintenance... is this a fair rate? With customers from my other work I am hoping to get some of them for lawn maintenance as well. I'm ultimately looking to make the transition to total self employment in the next year or two, but have to know the stability is there - if there is such a thing these days. The area I'm in has been growing at an amazing rate and approval was just given to a home builder for 500+ condo's, semi-detached and detached executive homes. I do have a couple of questions....
What do you use as a trigger for cutting? Do you maintain a 2-3" height in spring, slightly longer in summer, or do you just cut weekly or bi-weekly as needed and base billing on time and materials??? I don't want to take on lawn maintenance jobs and not be able to keep up, so I figured I'd see if anyone has gone this route to get things going....
Many thanks!

DA Quality Lawn & YS
04-16-2008, 06:14 PM