PDA

View Full Version : Problem With St. Augustine.-- Help

lawnbridge
04-17-2008, 10:14 PM
What Is Wrong With My Customers St. Augustine? I Am New To St. Augustine And Have Been Told It Is A Fungus. Help Please.

lawnbridge
04-17-2008, 10:18 PM
Here Are Two More Pics.

Carolina Cuts
04-17-2008, 10:19 PM
looks exactly like my mothers lawn.... happened at the end of last season. Personally, I believe it was TOO much water, (if thats at all possible)... (she was out of town and her irrigation control box got screwed up and the water remaining running over and over and over... like 4-5 cycles a day for a week..) Weeds shot up like crazy soon after. I'm in the middle of rehabing the lawn now...

Somebody else told me chinchbugs.... they love St. Aug. grass...
I'm stumped myself...

quiet
04-17-2008, 10:23 PM
The lawns have been slow coming out this year. But this look like several problems going on at once; poor watering, low fertility, disease . . .

Don't guess. Take a sample to your county extension service.

lawnbridge
04-17-2008, 10:49 PM
I was thinking of taking a sample to the county extension. I was thinking overwatering and lack of good fertilizer. I laid this sod last year and it was beautiful. I do not take care of yard, mowing or treatments. He has some ol guy that has done the mowing and I assume fertilizing forever. Yet, he now is calling asking me what's wrong with his grass.

ted putnam
04-17-2008, 11:39 PM
Lot's of pecans. Is it under a tree? Could be left over brown patch damage from last Fall or earlier this spring. Looked like a lesion or 2 on some leaf blade in first close up pic. CYA( Take a fresh sample and have it checked)

bug-guy
04-18-2008, 06:49 AM
was there any frost there are the stolons(runners) green

vegomatic40
04-18-2008, 07:50 AM