PDA

View Full Version : Why skid steers over tractors?

4 seasons lawn&land
04-22-2008, 09:30 PM
Im new to Lawn care and spend most of my time in that forum but I'd like to get into landscaping eventually. Im just curious what the point of skid steers are when tractors are less money, why is that anyway?

Mark Bogart
04-22-2008, 09:44 PM
Skid Steers are more maneuverable in tight situations plus you can lift more weight. You also have more control with a skid steer.

shovelracer
04-22-2008, 09:49 PM
2 different machines. For starters SSL's are more powerful, can lift higher, can lift more, run 50 attachments, and handle rough terrain. A tractor loader of the same weight cant even compare to a SSL. They can however tow and are less abusive to the terrain they travel over.

merrimacmill
04-22-2008, 09:56 PM
They both have their place. Theres stuff both do better than the other. A tractor is nice to have, but for an "only machine" for hardscaping I imagine a skid loader would be a little more versitile.

I have a tractor and find it very useful. I can put a landscape rake on the back and have a loader with a bucket on the front, then use both to spread dirt. This can't be done with a skid loader. Or I can have a salt spreader on the back, a loader with a bucket on the front for snow.

IMO neither is better than the other, but it just all depends on what your uses are.

AGLA
04-23-2008, 07:27 AM
I worked for a landscaper out west (Idaho) who had the same thought of getting more for less by buying a tractor. It sucked for anything other than wide open spaces and loading.

By the way, it lifted more and it lifted a lot higher than a skid stear and it was more stable on hills. There are plenty of attachments available. I don't think those are good arguements against. But, the tractor sucked in close quarters where 90% of landscaping takes place. That is what really counts.

Isobel
04-23-2008, 08:48 PM