PDA

View Full Version : Toro commercial TV5002 This one has me nuts!

action13
04-27-2008, 10:23 PM
Toro 2 cycle, TV5002, Proline engine, 122cc, Toro model # 22040, serial number# 8906747, Engine Family VSK122u121RA

Mower starts and runs ok, seems to stay running just fine, to test it I mower my front yard with it , maybe 45 minutes. Then after you shut it down, and go back to it 5 minutes later won't start. I have been through the carb top to bottom, complete rebuild including 45 minutes in my ultrasonic tank. New NGK plug, has a big blue spark and it jumps a 1/4 gap. This ones got me good. And yes have inspected the flywheel key. Assuming the compression is just fine or it wouldn't run at all. Have also checked for restricted muffler, intake and exhaust ports ect...Anyone had a problem like this with a 2 stroke Toro, with a Suzuki engine before?...Keep in mind I am a small engine mechanic and all the basic elementary things have been checked, and rechecked..Tom

Restrorob
04-28-2008, 12:03 AM
Assuming the compression is just fine or it wouldn't run at all......all the basic elementary things have been checked, and rechecked.

Well Tom,

How about a compression test ?

Will it re-start hot with a shot of carb spray cleaner ?

Breezmister
04-28-2008, 12:38 AM
Toro 2 cycle, TV5002, Proline engine, 122cc, Toro model # 22040, serial number# 8906747, Engine Family VSK122u121RA
Mower starts and runs ok, seems to stay running just fine, to test it I mower my front yard with it , maybe 45 minutes. Then after you shut it down, and go back to it 5 minutes later won't start.

Looks like you have covered all the things I would have looked at...But did you check to see if the fuel tank is properly vented ? A easy check would be to run the mower for a while, then shut it off and put your ear down near the fuel cap and slowly open it, if you hear a hiss, then the tank is not venting correctly