PDA

View Full Version : Spot treating with ferromec

Italysfinest327
04-28-2008, 08:20 PM
Im still getting started in the lawn business and I've been recommended using a tiny bit of liquid iron with trimec while spot treating. I applied this using a 4 gallon backpack sprayer. i use 1oz of trimec per gallon of water and at first i was using 3oz of ferromec for every gallon of water. I was planning on using it while spot treating for dandelions as well as the early rounds of clover. The spots that were sprayed seemed to get an almost blackish green tint. I then lowered the rate of ferromec to 2 oz for every gallon of water. And still have the same results. Luckily i only applied this to a few houses and know not to use this again. Has anyone else seen same results while using any form of liquid iron along with a herbicide? And do you think the blackish green spots where i sprayed will diminish soon? I just don't want to get an ear full from the customers..

LIBERTYLANDSCAPING
04-28-2008, 09:47 PM
:confused:Why would you use Feromec w/broadleaf weed control? I know some grassy weed control products can cause some yellowing of the grass ...& foliar applied iron & nitrogen might compensate a bit, but you are just talking regular Trimec (3way)??

Italysfinest327
04-28-2008, 10:16 PM
:confused:Why would you use Feromec w/broadleaf weed control? I know some grassy weed control products can cause some yellowing of the grass ...& foliar applied iron & nitrogen might compensate a bit, but you are just talking regular Trimec (3way)??

thats the reason why i added the liquid iron to compensate for whatever yellowing may occur while the weed dies off, last year some customers complained due to "dead spots" on their lawn after spraying, even though the dead spots were the dead weeds a few days after spraying. I figured id try mixing some iron to see the results, but i think i learned my lesson.

whoopassonthebluegrass
04-29-2008, 02:18 AM