PDA

View Full Version : kaw fc 420v only runs in choke


26wireman
04-29-2008, 07:48 AM
When I back of the choke it will run but with very little power. I put fresh gas and a new filter and let it idle for at least a 1/2 hour hoping the new gas would do the trick. It goes in the shop today but I want to try an educate myself.

jkason
04-29-2008, 02:40 PM
Compression needs to be AT LEAST 60 psi.
Carb adjustments (hi and low speed needles, idle speed).
Check for air leaks around carburetor shafts. If the shafts are significantly wobbly, replace the carb.

heritage
04-29-2008, 08:07 PM
When I back of the choke it will run but with very little power. I put fresh gas and a new filter and let it idle for at least a 1/2 hour hoping the new gas would do the trick. It goes in the shop today but I want to try an educate myself.

It has a "Fixed Jet" that screws in the bottom of center of carb. Remove bowl, and where carb bowl bolts into, the main jet is there. Unscrew, clean out debris, and spray carb cleaner inside circut with main jet removed.

Assemble and run.

Should be ok.

Pete