PDA

View Full Version : Rookie needs advice

BAMARED
12-10-2001, 03:27 PM
I was just going to check with you guys to see if you could offer me some tips regarding acquiring business come this Spring? I'm talking about not your usual flyering, mail-outs, etc. But actually talking to people that might possibly need my service - Ex: Realitors, graveyards, etc. In other words, where should I look to find business in unusual places?

Any advice or tips would be gratiously welcomed,

Steve Parsons

KirbysLawn
12-10-2001, 03:34 PM
You just listed the ones I avoid, no way for me. Every realitor I have ever dealt with has been problems and there is no way I would want to trim around a grave yard. My tip? Stay away from these!

gunputt
12-10-2001, 03:47 PM
I am also a rookie, but I have already landed 1 new account and am bidding on another fairly close, and both of these are new construction.

John

65hoss
12-10-2001, 03:50 PM
I agree with Ray about Realtors. But cemetaries might be different. I'm working on getting one right now. I'm bidding extra for trimming time. The customers will not be hassling you at the cemetary. Keep it looking nice and family members will be happy. You can be there as early or as late as you want. You will not be waking anyone up. No pun intended.

Talk with business people you know. Ask them about were they work. They might even get you the price of the last LCO. DON'T LOWBALL though. They may have friends that own business that they could tell you who to contact. There friends or family members might need someone. Networking is the game. Word of mouth after you get started will be the best advertising you can get. Or worst depending on you work habits.

Randy Scott
12-10-2001, 04:03 PM