PDA

View Full Version : Oklahoma?

irrig8r
05-03-2008, 09:48 PM
I had heard of restrictions on people other than licensed electricians installing LV lighting in Connecticut and New Jersey, then yesterday a note from John Meadors described the situation in Tulsa, Oklahoma where his business is shut down because of restrictions now being enforced there.

I don't think I've ever seen John here on Lawnsite, so I'll pass this along.

John wrote:

The electrical inspections department, city of Tulsa,Ok. Has told me (John Meadors), MGM Lighting that I can no longer do new installations of 12 volt lighting unless I am a licensed electrical contractor, or work under one or put one on my payroll so he can pull my permits. Believe it or not this same ruling applies to homeowners that might go to Home Depot & buy a 12 volt Malibu kit!!

I have informed the AOLP, most manufacturers, as well as landscape irrigation & lighting contractors. The initial response has been unbelief & anger. There is a meeting concerning this matter on May 27th, 3:30 pm, city of Tulsa inspections department, 111 S Greenwood Ave., Tulsa, Ok.

Craig Freeman, who is a field rep for FX, in Dallas Tx. Is planning to appeal the decision & attend the meeting & fly in experts that are familiar with UL 1838 & the NEC code. Terry Dee has been mentioned as a good prospect.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, as I am shut down, subject to fines & jail if found in violation until this is resolved.

Thank you, John Meadors

Mike M
05-03-2008, 10:03 PM
Oh, I thought you meant "Oklahoma!"

Gregg, welcome to big government. This is what is meant by "neoconservatives." Bush created a really weird big government, at least for a republican president. Kind of like fascism?

I left education because of over-regulation which had me doing 34 page documents each time a parent came to the school. I was working late hours and weekends.