PDA

View Full Version : Dylox

cgaengineer
05-09-2008, 03:50 PM
Well before anyone starts to hammer me because I am an unlicensed applicator let me just set myself clear, this is for my own lawn not my customers. However I am currently studying for the Cat 24 and general standards for Georgia just the same.

About 2 months ago I noticed a mole tunnel and I quickly eradicated him but ignored the main reason why my lawn was a target....GRUBS. I now have a large hollow sounding dead spot then when I look under the turf I notice lots of white grubs. According to my study material the best time to apply a control for white grubs is during July, but right now they are causing damage and I want them stopped. I checked Home Depot and they had grub control but I declined and headed to Lesco. Lesco sold me granular DyLox which is a post control and I was told that this should work very well and kills the grubs on contact. As anyone studying for the pesticide exam knows, the materials really don't have much on how specific chemicals work and how they are to be applied so I pulled up the label and MSDS on Dylox and was noticing that the water in a spray solution has to have a certain pH in order to have a longer half life.

My question is, if I apply at the recommended rate and water, is the pH of the city water applied a factor in the half life of the product even if using a granular? Would the pH of the soil also have an effect on the half life as well?

Ric
05-09-2008, 03:57 PM
Well before anyone starts to hammer me because I am an unlicensed applicator let me just set myself clear, this is for my own lawn not my customers. However I am currently studying for the Cat 24 and general standards for Georgia just the same.