PDA

View Full Version : getting licensed to spray

whitefrog1
05-14-2008, 04:20 PM
I posted this in starting a business, but I figured I might get more help in this one. I just passed the certification exam today for turf and ornamentals in TN. I'm a student and will have my A.A.S in golf course and turf management in the fall. My question is about getting licensed and bonded to spray residentials. The .gov website is kind of hard to understand. Do you have to have a 4 yr degree or 2 yrs experience to apply for the licensing exam? There are so many different options it's hard to tell what qualifies you to take it. I'm sure it varies from state to state though.

Also if any one sprays can you weigh in on how it is going for you? What the income is like and how steady is the work? I'm considering starting a lawncare bus. next year for some extra cash through school and see what happens. I'd like to be able to spray since 98% of the people here just simply mow and that's it. I figured that may set me apart a bit and I could pick up some money without worrying so much about being undercut by some1 else on mowing prices. Any advice or suggestions would be great.

teeca
05-14-2008, 04:44 PM
here in indiana you need to
1) pass your specific catagory (turf)
2) work under a licensed appicator for 90days or go to purdue univ. and take a days traing corse
4) get insurance that covers lawncare or whatever is your doing and make sure that it covers vehicle and chemical liability. (i had american family, found out they don't cover liquid apps, just granular)
5) pay $45 for your catagory and another $45 for your business license
6) start beating doors to get work

i'm sure most states are simular, indiana just does what the EPA mandated each state must do, others have added to the requirments to make it look like there law makers are doing something.

whitefrog1
05-14-2008, 05:19 PM