PDA

View Full Version : Experienced irrigatin installer needs some help

Aquaman!!!!
05-24-2008, 08:45 PM
Hello people, I'm not a newby to irrigation by any means, but i am new to the business aspect. I'm working for a new company that wants me to start up an irrigation division for them. Even though i said im very experienced, im sure there are still may things i can learn. I worked for a company where i was a foreman for the irrigation installation division. I was handed a design with everything laid out for me, all i had to do was put it in. The installation is the easy part to me, but the new aspect is the design and bidding. I am trying to find out what certifications i should be looking into as well as books?, schooling? things of this nature to further my knowledge in bidding and design. If someone could point me in the right direction it would be most helpful.

Dirty Water
05-24-2008, 09:05 PM
First thing you need to do is move to texas.

Then you'll be fine :)

No, In all seriousness, take a look over at www.irrigationtutorials.com and read his articles on pipe sizing, and flow rates.

You have install technique down, so now you just need to learn how to properly lay out and size pipe to the available water flow.

Dirt Boy
05-24-2008, 09:22 PM
:clapping:
Go back and look at some of the old layouts/installs you did, start asking yourself questions:
Why did they put the heads the way they did, line size's, head spacing, nozzle sizes, heads per run, why you ran the pipe the way you did (minimize the runs, crossing over other runs, etc. etc.)
Depending on how you left the last company, perhaps, you could talk with the person that did the pricing on some of the ones you did.
Screw up a few times, and your boss will educate you as well;)

Good Luck

Aquaman!!!!
05-25-2008, 09:48 AM