PDA

View Full Version : fav tree lights

Mike M
06-06-2008, 07:51 PM
I like the cast & unique fixtures for downlighting, and sometimes can't decide which is better.

The Unique Lunar seems good for daytime concealment as well as bulb concealment from 360 degrees, and the Cast seems really nice for 180 degree view points and overhead.

Anyone have feedback on this?? I'm just learning from trial and error.

Lite4
06-06-2008, 09:00 PM
I have not used the cast, but I do really like the lunar. The deep recessed bulb has been great, even for angles over 30 degrees from vertical. A very well designed fixture IMHO.

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting
06-06-2008, 10:14 PM
The CAST Treelight has been my fav. for a long time.

I am working closely with Nightscaping to make the new JEMLiter my newest favourite for tree mounted downlighting. A couple of hiccups at the beginning but what newly launched product doesn't have a couple of growing pains? They seem to be able to keep up with my demand now which is good and we have the kinks ironed out some.

I haven't installed any of the Unique Lunar fixtures and the reason why is that darned ball mount knuckle / stem assembly. I am worried that it will not stand up to the abuse in terms of wind, weather, heat&cold, and physical impact when limbs move, fall, etc. I want something with a more positive method of positioning and attachment then a ball held into a socket by pressure alone. Has anyone found that the Lunar mount tends to allow the fixture to move off of aim over time?

Have a great day.

The Lighting Geek
06-06-2008, 10:28 PM
James, I have used the Lunar, Quasar 1, and Probe OSM, all of which use the same base with different length shrouds. I always cinch the collar with channel locks once I have the adjustment where I want it. The ball socket gives you infinite adjustment and the ability to zero in on your target. I have not had any problems and I have quite a few out the there.

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting
06-06-2008, 11:32 PM