PDA

View Full Version : Exmark Lazer Z overheating?

zilla24
06-09-2008, 08:36 PM
I am fairly new to the ZTR mower game and just bought a used 60" Lazer Z with a Kholer Command 25. It ran fine for the past month but it now seems to be acting up a bit. The weather here in PA the last 3 days has been around 95 degrees. The first issue I had was the mower ran fine for 20 minutes then shut off, kind of like it was out of fuel (there was plenty in the tank). I was able to start it back up but evey time I went to release the parking brake it would stall out, it would run with the brake on though. I looked it over and turns out there was grass packed up in the engine belt and all around the hydro pumps. Today I mowed again, it ran great this time for 1.5 hours. I stopped for a minute or two to grab a drink and let the mower idle, when I went to start mowing again the same problem as before. Please Help!!!

Partsangel
06-09-2008, 09:58 PM
Zilla,
This is a common thing when you buy used equipment, they probably sold it for that very same reason? You will have to go back to room 101 and service the whole mower including fuel filter, oil filter and oil change, air cleaner. now you made a note about grass clippings everywhere so I would remove the blower housing/ cooling cover/plastic thing that covers the cylinders and coils on the engine and check/clean all grass and debiris from under it and also check your gas cap...Yep your gas cap maybe clogged not let air into the gas tank to replace the fuel your engine is using (very common) an engine that runs fine for a minute or two should run fine for hours as well. you either have an overheating sensor saying (i'm not cool) or a gas starvation problem saying (I need clean service parts) please come back and let us know what it turns out to be K.

Mike

White Gardens
06-09-2008, 10:02 PM