PDA

View Full Version : purchasing new lawnmower

grasskeeper
01-03-2002, 08:12 PM
I am looking to buy a new 32 inch belt driven walk-behind mower, by either Scag or ex-mark. If anyone has any information on either of these mowers that would help me choose the better one, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

keifer
01-03-2002, 09:58 PM
This maybe far off but exmark is owned by toro and i have a toro 32 proline with a 12.5 kohlar it is well built and other than the clutch i have had no probs. as far as price it is quite high.

ps. snapper makes a nice 26 inch.

Administrator
01-03-2002, 10:01 PM
Welcome to LawnSite.com

Make sure whatever choice you make that you dealer support is great.

AL Inc
01-03-2002, 10:47 PM
Grasskeeper- I don't think you can go wrong with the Scag. I run a 36" with the 12.5 Kawi and a 48" with 14 Kawi. Both machines cut well and haven't had any major problems.

I'm new to Lawnsite, but have been enjoying surfing the last week or so. Definitely have A LOT more time on my hands with eaf clean-up done and no snow! Mike

65hoss
01-04-2002, 02:30 AM
First off, the info on that very subject is posted in book length on many threads. Do a search and you will get hours of reading on this scag vs. exmark debate.

As stated, dealer support is key. I can tell you the exmarks are awesome. Cut quality is top notch, reliability is grade A, and factory support is second to none!!!!!

scagman
01-04-2002, 06:23 AM
I like the scag 32" because I have one that is 1991 model still cuts and runs good. Scag only offers a gear drive 32" and as far as a 36" or 32" there have been numerous times where I barely squeeze through with the 32". This spring I will be retiring the scag and buying the new 32" Exmark viking hydro with ecs controls and a 15hp kohler. I have heard so many good things about exmark that I know I cant go wrong.

Atlantic Lawn
01-04-2002, 08:35 AM