PDA

View Full Version : Using a GPS device to route

shocker5oh
06-17-2008, 10:45 AM
How is everyone doing...I am new to the industry...I've been planning my business over the past 3 weeks and plan on starting it up in the spring of 09...I have been on this site religiously and wanna thank everyone for the insite they have given me and other beginners...as it helps to deter making some crucial rookie mistakes...a big thing that I've red from a lot of different users is wasting gas is wasting profit...makes sense so I was wondering how many people use a GPS device to route there jobs to make everything the quickest possible...you may know your area well enough but this helps give out how many miles one job is from another and if a new job should be placed inbetween...again just wanna thank everyone for there responses.

mowerbrad
06-17-2008, 01:40 PM
I have never used GPS to do my routes but it kinda sounds like a good idea. Though I don't know if it would be worth buying one if it only saves me a mile in my route. I could just do it using mapquest for free.

shocker5oh
06-17-2008, 02:02 PM
I use my GPS now for resturants and stuff...but the thing I noticed...say you have 30 customers and you put all there names and addresses into the GPS it will tell you who is closest in order and you just work your way around from there...you won't have to spend the time mapping each location and who to go to first and all that...time saver overtime could save the money it cost and then some

PTP
06-17-2008, 02:40 PM
Generally speaking, Microsoft Streets and Trips will do what you want and will cost significantly less. I have a GPS but never use it for work - it's a cool toy but not practical for this line of work IMO.

k911lowe
06-17-2008, 02:42 PM
i use google to map my bids but a GPS is kinda like a toy for trips and stuff.

shocker5oh
06-17-2008, 03:08 PM