PDA

View Full Version : Your thoughts on Business and Marketing plan

HeloPilot
06-23-2008, 07:40 PM
I have been working on some ideas for several months. I want to get in, but I want to do it right. I am now ready to take the jump and drop the money for the right equipment. Some background on my community. I live in a nice middle-class community in Texas that requires year-round service. 21,000+ single family households. In my division there are 1600 homes all within 2 mile radius. All of these homes are less than 5 years old. These homes are split between 16 neighborhoods.

Desired Equipment:
12' landscape trailer with 4' walls
36" walk-behind..... undecided brand
21" Craftsman walk-behind....... my current mower
stick edger.... probably echo
trimmer...... probably echo
backpack blower..... again probably echo
misc hand tools

My goal is 60 accounts in the immediate area and this immediate area only averaging $25 per cut. That would total $1500 per week. I know many of you think of this as the Wal-Mart theory and not realistic. If you see a realistic flaw in this with constructive criticism, let me know and help me out.

Here is my idea on gaining these accounts. I have had some great experience with running small business's. This is my first run at the LCO business.
My original plan was to do postcard mailers to all 1600 homes. the USPS cost would be $675 plus $250 for the mailer and the time to address each mailer. I know that there are options to do mass mailers, but I want to focus on this specific small area right now. Instead of mailing I am going to hand deliver these to the doors with the help of my wife and 2 kids.