PDA

View Full Version : Weed Eater or Edger

Green Acres
01-18-2000, 04:27 PM
I have heard of some people using weed eaters to do the edging around sidewalks and drives. I have also heard the same about edgers. What I was wondering which one do you like better? Which one does a better job? I'm just starting out so I'm kinda on a budget. I can afford an edger but if most people feel I don't need one than I'm sure I could find something else to spend that money on. Also has anyone had any experiance with a Stihl edger? Thanks

Lazer
01-18-2000, 04:33 PM
You need an edger. You can edge with a string trimmer with an edgit* attachment, but they're kinda clumsy (my opinion) We bought a few in 1997 but took them off. You can also edge with a trimmer after the edge has been established. This actually leaves a much cleaner anb sharper edge, but takes a certain skill and is pretty slow.<p>You need an steel-blade edger. Perhaps consider getting a split-boom to save on budget. You can't go wrong with Stihl, though, they make really good products.

Green Acres
01-18-2000, 04:57 PM
Lazer what is this split broom you are talking about?

Lazer
01-18-2000, 05:13 PM
There's some talk down farther on this board that's worth looking at, but...<p>A lot of companies are building trimmers with a coupling in the middle allowing for other attchments to be used. Some options include: edger, hedge trimmer, broom, cultivator, pruning saw, etc.<p>I like 'em.

jds1469
05-05-2008, 11:28 PM
I just purchased one by Troybuilt and the trimmer was about $275 and they have atatchments for edging, pruning and cleanup. The engine is IMO a little underpowered for the edger but it does the trick. Im really thinking of taking it back because now that iv used it if i keep it trimmed i really shouldnt need it anymore.

so really just rent one.

yungman
05-06-2008, 12:17 AM
I thought this is the PAS system in Echo, Kombi tool in Stihl and everyone else have something like this!!!!!

magbarn