PDA

View Full Version : First paver job

Mike33
06-25-2008, 11:34 PM
First paver job at my own home, pick away. Not quite ready to tamp and poly sand yet. Bar table picking up granite tomm. Barbecue pit still under construction.
mike

02DURAMAX
06-26-2008, 05:56 AM
Looks Good!

fool32696
06-26-2008, 07:00 PM
Not bad for a first job, but I'm noticing some running some straight lines where the blocks weren't staggered correctly. In the last pic it looks like the last row on the right is sloping upward slightly. Keep at it, you'll only get better!

Mike33
06-26-2008, 10:57 PM
Not bad for a first job, but I'm noticing some running some straight lines where the blocks weren't staggered correctly. In the last pic it looks like the last row on the right is sloping upward slightly. Keep at it, you'll only get better!
good obsevation, my wall is little off and i thought i could adjust paver to fit. Bad idea. Especially since im a wall builder. On the first landing does the turn and cuts look okey? I know my lines got off lesson learned. On up towards pillar pics dont show i have them running better, got more experience the farther i went. It was tough working by my self getting up and down carrying and laying pita. thanks for input.
mike

PerfiCut L&L
06-26-2008, 11:07 PM
Looks prety good so far. Should turn out to a be a nice first project. Did notice a couple small things, atleast from the two pictures posted.

1. in the first picture, the wall to the left with the board on it. Might have been a good idea to put a layer of geotextle between the back of the wall stones and the fill. Especially if its dirt. You'll end up with dirt and sand washing out onto the patio after every rain.

2. Where the rake & shovel are: It looks as if the last 10 or so rows of pavers were an afterthought. From this angle I can see some prety long seams.