PDA

View Full Version : Another "I need help with my business" topic

brianhanson37
06-28-2008, 05:58 PM
I'm just getting started, but I only have two ~20" push mowers and a trimmer. I would like to take all the money I make and put it towards a rider. Should I bid cheaper because it will take longer? What would you suggest.

Also, I mulch all my grass at home, but I wonder if others will mind it. What do you people out there do? Bag? Rake? Mulch?

Thanks for the help!

Also, is it too late to start this summer? I'm from WI and I'm thinking I still might get some business because its getting hot and people don't want to mow their lawns in the heat.

MowHouston
06-28-2008, 06:54 PM
I have a 21" and a 22". I don't bid any cheaper than the guys with bigger walk behinds.

You can expect that you aren't going to make the same dollar per minute that they do but I doubt customers are willing to pay more just because you have smaller equipment. In any case, once you get your bigger mowers, you'll be making the average. Thats how I think of it.

In short, don't undercut, but at least bid the normal price.

You should mulch your yards. It is the norm in the business, and though some people want bagging, it isn't requested a lot. As long as your mower mulches it well and doesnt leave clumps, you'll be okay.

I rake up extra clippings/debris that I blow back onto the lawn, but thats it.

I started back up earlier this month and I've got 30 customers. You can do it. Maybe not as many, but that depends on your area and how you are advertising.

Good luck.

bohiaa
06-28-2008, 10:56 PM
what you will find is: there is a VERY fine line inbetween riders, ZTR'S and then Tractors.

sure you can bid a job using 21" machines, where a guy with a ZTR will do it faster and easyer on the body. and he MAY be 5 to 10.00 Cheeper. then you go from ZTR to tractor same situwation.....

find the area that fits all machines, ir rather the markett.

here we have all. but shying away from 21".