PDA

View Full Version : New to the biz

TJ Fed
07-02-2008, 05:04 PM
Ok well im 15 years old I get my license in 2 months I have a 1998 chevy blazer, a 2007 Scag Tiger Cub 48" deck and a 6x14 trailer and in a few weeks in going to be buying a echo weed eater straight shaft. Im new to the whole lawncare business but im deffinatley not new to mowing lawns since I live on 25 acres. My question is I live in Indiana what should my pricing be for mowing Thanks TJ

Sweet Tater
07-02-2008, 05:47 PM
some are going to tell you $1 a min, others I have heard $2. You should have a minimum charge, mine based on my expenses is $35. You are going to have to figure out what your costs are to make a minimum and go from there. Every market is different and what I can charge in Mississippi you may not get away with, and what ssome one in Florida charges I'd get run out of town for charging.
I mow mostly 1 acre and up and charge an average of 55 an acre unless there is alot of line trimming. Theres not many paved driveways around here so no edging.
Hope maybe this will give you some idea to start.

Lawnut101
07-02-2008, 05:48 PM
Figure out how much your mower, labor and gas costs you to operate per hour, and go from there. For mowing smaller residentials I have a minimum of $30 and try to get around $1 per minute. I get more or less than that, but that's in my area. I'm sure some guys from your area can chime in and give some advice. For large lawns more than an acre, I charge a minimum of $50 for an acre up to around $75 or so, if there is a lot of trimming. And then for each acre after that, the price goes down a little bit per acre.

TJ Fed
07-02-2008, 06:04 PM
Thanks for the help guys i think im going to do like a 25 dollar minimun and 30 to 45 an acre how do you guys go about being paid by the week by the month any help helps

mowerbrad
07-02-2008, 06:16 PM