PDA

View Full Version : I want to start my Lawn Mowing Business & I need all the help I can get.

mtallicuhh
07-02-2008, 09:04 PM
Hey there, I'm in the Los Angeles area. I am 21, and I would like to start my own business. I have chosen the landscaping/Lawn mowing business, I have no experience, I do like lawns, but i don't have a strong passion for them. I chose this business to generate cash flow.

Today is my first day of research, I will take any & all advice I can get, it can be as little as a paragraph Or even 5 or 6 pages long, i will appreciate it, and soak it all up, I really need a lot of answers to questions I don't even have yet.

Right off the top of my head, here are a few research questions that I have. You can skip this and give me what ever advice you have, but also I will need these answers some how. Thank you :)

Questions:

1.What are the requirements by law, for me to do business as a lawn mower/or landscaper. Exactly what licenses, and paper work will I need to fill out etc. And any other requirement, to do this type of business that I will need.

2.How do I legally hire employees? I want my guys to be "Independent contractors." so they are responsible for everything they do. If they get hurt on the job etc. (also, will being an independent contractor protect me if they get hurt on the job?) I mainly want this, so they can use their own truck. This way they won't be careless with my truck. I want it so they use their own truck & their are responsible for what happens.

3.What equiptment will I need? About how much will it cost for everything? New/Used

4.How much should my guys get paid (Los angeles area?) And is it ok to find guys with no experience & train them? I mean is the work that hard?

5.What do most lawn Mowing companies/Landscapers even do? We don't have one so I wouldn't know. I know they cut the grass & blow the leaves, but i'm sure there is more to it. What is most common, and does it take extensive training?