PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out, heres my plan.. what next?

nodak345
07-03-2008, 01:17 AM
I was sitting up the other night and trying to figure out ways to make some cash while balancing a college schedule. I came up with a pretty good plan I think but I need some more advice, and that has led me here.

First of all, I am living with 4 other guys in northern Minnesota that are interesting in starting this business with me. I have been mowing and doing simple landscaping for many years, and have been working for a property maint. company for the last three years so I do have some no-how. I plan on starting out this fall just with doing leaves and rock/mulch bed cleaning and de-weeding. I figured this way all we would need is two backpack blowers, a few rakes, some sheets for the leaves, and our trucks. Depending on the kind of money we can make in a few weeks from that, I'm hoping to get a snowblower or two, and some shovels and do snow removal. We get a lot of snow up in Duluth, and we can balance that around our schedules.

As for building up funds, I am thinking about taking 15-20% of each of our jobs just to put into an account and save up for landscaping equipment which brings me to the next business venture.

I'm hoping to have enough money by then to buy a trailer, rototiller, rakes, and shovels and then try to get some landscape jobs lined up. I'm looking to do rock/mulch beds, planting, and maybe even learn how to do rock ponds. We will provide mowing, edging, and garbage/demo removal.

As for the advice, the first problem is we really don't have any good connections in Duluth since we are all from other towns, but I was thinking of just handing out A LOT of brochures with our name, what we do, and our mission to our customers. I'm really good at dealing with people in a professional manner, I just need to get them to call first.