PDA

View Full Version : First walkway job

blsmonroe
07-04-2008, 05:12 PM
Here are some pics of my first walkway job. I've been cutting lawns for 4 years and I'm just starting into bigger landscaping jobs and paver jobs this year. (I'm sure you haven't heard that before) I know its not perfect, I did learn a lot though. One thing I'm looking for is suggestions on where we turned the running bond pattern to match the turns. Is there an easier way to do this? Or a a way to make it look better? The story behind the fourth picture is we hit a very soft spot of dirt. About 15 sq ft so rather than digging out the usual 7" we dug down about 18-24" to more stable ground.

KevinACrider
07-04-2008, 05:15 PM
Any reason why you chose that particular way of making the angle?

blsmonroe
07-04-2008, 05:16 PM
More pics:
We used 4" of road blend base and 1 inch of concrete sand. The pavers are ephenry Old town cobble dakota blend.

Suggestions? Tips?

blsmonroe
07-04-2008, 05:18 PM
Kevin,
To answer your question that was one thing i learned from this job. I based my new walkway too much on the layout of the old walkway. The customer wanted it similarly sized to the old walkway (that he did himself).

Also I realize that I didn't go wide enough on the base, that was mostly due to poor planning and basing the excavation for the new walkway mostly off of the old walkway.

KevinACrider
07-04-2008, 05:20 PM
The outline shape isn't bad but I'm referring to the way you cut the block at each angle. It doesn't look like it flows very well.

punt66
07-04-2008, 05:26 PM
I would have rounded the curves and the only cuts would have been the ends. Its not flowing right.

blsmonroe
07-04-2008, 05:27 PM
Yeah, the walkway went from 5 feet to about 3 feet wide at that point so it was tricky making a uniform turn. That's actually the main thing i'm looking for suggestions on.