PDA

View Full Version : Quoting for fall cleanup

Rich's landscaping
07-05-2008, 03:12 PM
As stated before in a different thread im just starting out. Im begining to get calls on fall cleanup but unsure what to charge. I have my rate of 45$/hour. Do i give the customer a set price or should i do the work and then bill them. To me if i charge them for 3 hours and then i go back 2 or 3 times im screwed. :dizzy:
Right now i have a backpack and a rake i plan on buying a used walk behind blower.

This site has been really valuable asset for me thanks everyone.:)

TPendagast
07-05-2008, 05:56 PM
Tell everyone it is $55 per hour (you will use more fuel per hour than just mowing and there will be time spent dumping leaves) for fall clean up there will be a minimum charge for a lawn cut (whatever it costs to cut their lawn) PLUS $55 per man per hour, time spent OFF site is still billable hours as the crew will be dumping leaves from that job.
If they dont like that deal you could tell them its a minimum $110 dump fee per visit.
After a year of billing this way you can tell the customer, oh well last year it was $400 for your fall clean up. So assume it will be similar to that (plus or minus 20% depending on rain, volume of leaves etc) but still charge hourly, the fall is persnickity, some years the leaves dump inside two weeks, some years customers call me up to ask if I can "shake the trees" to get the leaves out so I only have to come once.
SOME properties will let the leaves fall and only want you to come ONCE (these jobs always end up costing MORE) and some people want their property cleaned once a week or at least every 10 days (this is the best way to do it, and the most cost efficent) and still others prefer says 2-3 times per clean up.
Anyway just go hourly plus or including the dump time/fee, but fall lcean ups will always cost more hourly than regular cutting.

ALC-GregH
07-06-2008, 11:11 AM