PDA

View Full Version : Is this priced right? $15k for retaining wall?

ChadTheNomad
07-07-2008, 10:50 AM
Greetings everyone. Obviously, I just found this site, but I was happy to see the level of activity on here as well as the expertise.

I am not a professional. I'm merely an amateur homeowner that has a lot of ideas, but not enough knowledge to do what I want. When it comes to something like a retaining wall, I know I either need to invest a lot of time to really understand what needs to be done or just leave it to the professionals.

And so I left it to the professionals. I kindly request a little feedback as to whether this is the going price for such work.

My yard slopes all around the back. Because of this, it cuts into the usable yard space. The idea was to cut back into some of the slope, put in a ~4' retaining wall and then a 20'x20' patio with a fire pit.

I know this isn't a lot of information, but I do know I don't have the ability to excavate this thing myself. We were wanting to go with a dry stack stone, but we were quoted $15k to do so. Any thoughts?

I could upload some pictures of the plans as well if that'd help.

AWJ Services
07-07-2008, 11:13 AM
I personally would not trust a dry stack wall 4 foot tall unless it was built out off larger stone which is very expensive here in Ga.
Either concrete/veneer or use SRW blocks.
Both are better "Long term" solutions.

ChadTheNomad
07-07-2008, 01:21 PM
Thank you, I'll keep that in mind. Stone was just one of the options that was considered, but I was a little surprised at the cost. I think $4k of it was just labor.

Any additional feedback as to the cost would be appreciated.

cooltype
07-07-2008, 01:36 PM