PDA

View Full Version : First time using a walkbehind of any size

Rich's landscaping
07-11-2008, 06:20 PM
I wanted to find out everyones experiance the first time they used a walkbehind and how long it took for them to get used to it.
Im new to the game and never really used one...everyone ive spoken to says you get used to it.

cgaengineer
07-11-2008, 08:27 PM
I would say you will get the hang of it in a few months...when I first got mine I scalped everything, now I am much better a year later. I still misread terrain from time to time but overall I fair pretty well. I know I learned right away not to do a 360 turn without keeping the inboard tire spinning!

David Thompson
07-11-2008, 08:29 PM
The very first time I used a friends walk behind mower was interesting. He didnt bother to tell me that he had rigged the safety switches so when I let go of the handles the mower just kept on cutting and we ended up replacing the bed of annuals that I mowed and stomped on while trying to stop the machine.
David

Itzkcatz
07-11-2008, 10:56 PM
I guess it depends on what type of mower u have.

mountainmowinman
07-13-2008, 11:14 PM
My first was with my brother-in-laws pistol grip Bobcat that had the controls adjusted way to tight. My wrist killed me after that. All take some time to learn but just think of the time you are saving, and the money you will be making (hopefully).

dura to the max
07-13-2008, 11:25 PM
the first time i used one i was 14 and had just bought it. noone taught me anything about running it, and i was cutting straight lines in 10 minutes, i grew up on the farm runing equipment though. it didnt take me too long to learn how to not scalp, but like anyone i still have a few issues.

STIHL GUY
07-14-2008, 03:38 PM
i picked it up on the first day but not before i learned not to let only one pistol lever go

DLAWNS
07-14-2008, 03:49 PM
I picked it up in the first couple of days, but a few months to really get good with it.

81Bronk36
07-14-2008, 08:58 PM