PDA

View Full Version : Wirring Issues please advise

landscaper9929
07-11-2008, 07:34 PM
Guys I could use a little help with this. Let me give you a little background on the situation. The system is about 15 years old with toro valves and an RB RC clock. When I run the system I have a zone that runs constantly. I figure bad valve. I 521 and locate the 1st manifold (3 valves) zones 1,2,&3 here is where it all goes to crap. 12 strand to the 1st manifold then for some reason spliced into single strand exiting the box. I disconnect the splice and start to 521 each hot. I locate the MV and 1 more valve. The last valve I locate (using 521) is across the driveway. I continue locating as I know there should be 5 more valves. I follow the signal, it turns and runs parallel to the right drive however I loose tone and null and start getting a ton of feedback. This happens no matter which hot I'm hooked to. Now I'm still learning the 521 so not sure why I'm loosing tone. Now not being familiar with toro valves generally RB around here.I have a question. If I run zone 2 and turn down the Flow Control zone 1 starts up. I did this to the MV & sprays near by the valve popped up (rb1812s) and all the way even though the zone that wont shut down is on. Now I know by closing the flow Im in essence forcing the water towards the other valves however if there closed no water should get past the valve. So is it possible that most if not all of the valves are bad. If so fine I will replace, however I need to locate the others. Using a fault locater I locate a fault near the drive, excavate and find a mess. Looks as though whoever made the changes and spliced into the 12 strand did it at the sleeve too. I did not however find the fault. I cut out the splice and reconnected it (weird connectors looked like conduit pic below) and will be putting it in a valve box Mon. As I was reconnecting it the heavens opened so I had to leave but before I did notice the wires were all scorched (power sur