PDA

View Full Version : Getting things started...

Yung
07-17-2008, 05:20 AM
Hello everyone! I'm new to this forum, and I was hoping ya'll could help me. First off I'm only 15, BUT I'm serious about making a lawn care business! I already have a lot of the thinking done, I've already chosen a name, prices, flyer blueprints, business name graphic, etc. But I need some advice from ya'll, I plan on getting this thing set off when I'm 16, can ya'll recommend some equipment name brands? I was thinking a Redmax weedeater, a z-turn riding mower(have no clue on name brand), a push mower(perhaps a toro?), a blower(no clue of name brand), and maybe an edger. Is there any other equipment you'll think I need? By the way, It'll be just me, I've thought hard on this and I think it would be a lot easier being a one-man crew, and also if you're wondering I've been doing small time business for about 2 years now, and I cut better than the lawn care businesses around here, so I'm quite experienced. Well aside from the equipment questions I had, if you can give me anymore advice I would REALLY appreciate it, and I will take it all seriously!
Oh, one more question, will I be required to "register my business"? Like pay just to open it up? It's gonna be a home-based business.

Yung
07-17-2008, 09:35 AM
Of course no one takes me seriously, I shouldn't have added my age......

dura to the max
07-17-2008, 08:47 PM
well since i too started young then i'm gonna take you seriously. mowers brands are all pretty similar. it's kind of like the whole chevy/ford thing, very similar w/ small differences that give them there own uniqueness. same w/ trimmers, stihl, echo, redmax, shindaiwa have all given me great service and i would reccomend them to anyone. for me it boils down to dealer support, the dealer that takes care of me and treats me like a friend not just another dollar in his pocket. that said i would try to buy mowers and hand-helds from the same person.