PDA

View Full Version : F350 V10 or 6.0

newtostone
07-18-2008, 09:40 PM
Alright haha i know this has been gone over, i know the v10 will be lookin around 10mpg. So the two trucks i am looking at right now are a F350's. One with v10 and 25k miles or a 6.0 with 50k miles. Help me out here, will i still have the pulling power i am used to now with my 6.0 diesel or will i feel greatly under powered? (the v10 is a 2004 so anyone with knowledge of that year and anything to look out for please add in.)

Grass Happens
07-18-2008, 10:38 PM
just have the dealer check the turbo, they have a problem with it.

oakwdman
07-18-2008, 11:31 PM
i would be more concerned with the year of the 6.0L that the V10. '05+ 6.0's are alot better that the '03 and early '04's (from what i hear.... I have no personal experience with one).

YellowDogSVC
07-19-2008, 12:00 AM
i would be more concerned with the year of the 6.0L that the V10. '05+ 6.0's are alot better that the '03 and early '04's (from what i hear.... I have no personal experience with one).

6.0 in my opinion. Weak motor. I have an '05. It has seen more than a month in a the shop and I drive like your granny. I only have 48.5k miles and I got mine 11/04.

I think the turbo lag is terrible and there is virtually no turbo boost at high speeds pulling a trailer. I hauled 17k lbs today (truck and trailer combined) and I felt like I was stuck in mud all day. Truck checks out, though, on diagnostics. For what it is, if you get a good deal, I'm sure the diesel will outlast the v10 if you are pulling but it doesn't have the response my cummins or 7.3 had.

Keith
07-19-2008, 01:53 AM
I waited for the 6.0 after I heard the first rumors of it. I was set to buy a 2001 7.3 and decided I could get by a few more years. When it came out, and had all the problems, I waited some more. Finally in April 2004 I knew that I needed to make a decision and get a truck soon.