PDA

View Full Version : some walkbehind advice/info, please

tranum
01-16-2002, 06:20 PM
have a new commercial property that i mowed today for the 1st time. it has some pretty serious hills, slopes, embankments or however you choose to describe.
i need to know about w/b vs. ZTR performance on hillsides. i've never owned or operated a w/b so i have no experience to compare. some of the hills i could keep the Z on but the fear factor was about to overtake me. after looking at some of the other hills, i didn't even try.
my question is, will a w/b operate (safely) on a steeper hill than a Z? i'm not talking about a vertical wall, but if a Z is on a slope and is just starting to loose it's grip, do you think a w/b would stick?
i kinda sorta added the cost of a w/b in my bid, so i don't mind purchasing if it will do the job.
P.S. demoing on this prop is probably out of the question. it's 80 miles to the nearest dealer & i have not found one that would bring a machine that far for a demo.
sorry about the long post. thanks

Green Care
01-16-2002, 06:31 PM
IF your are afraid or if the hill is real steep I prefer to use a W/B
only.

Now if the W/B doesn't hold you might want to try the daul wheel set up

65hoss
01-16-2002, 08:21 PM
A hydro w/b would do better. You have more control also on the hills if you get to sliding. Do you have any friend in the area with a w/b that could let you try theirs?

rodney
01-16-2002, 08:33 PM
do a search for the mowerconsultant at the top right of this forum
any way he travels around so people can demo hustler mowers.
he could get you a demo .

BWSCAPE
01-16-2002, 08:39 PM
The walk behind will defenitely out perform the rider on the side of a hill.You may still have some slipping especially under wet conditions.I would recommend a hydro over a belt drive.They are more money but its all we use because they can out handle a belt drive in all situations and the extra cost will be recovered in productivity.

AltaLawnCare
01-16-2002, 08:45 PM