PDA

View Full Version : Boulder formula driving me crazy help?

allpro2009
07-22-2008, 06:05 PM
Hey guys, ive just recently been given the chance to install boulders as a border around several beds at 2 of the properties that i service. one is commercial, the other residential. i actually sold them on boulders, rather than retaining block, blk diam, or anything else because we agreed it looked best. My problem is, these nurserys and rock yards are not even coming close to giving me a way to figure these jobs out. Since im new to boulders, i dont know how many i will need, less ofcourse measuring EVERY single boulder, which im here hoping thats not the only answer. it doesnt have to be a perfect formula, but man i cant even get a guess out of these guys. im looking to use volleyball to basketball size boulders, round and not like colors. now from what i can tell these are what the boulder industy considers 1ft (volleyball) to 2 ft basketball) boulders? Please has anyone had experience with this, and can u help me. say i need 80 linear feet worth of edging = _____2ft boulders. since they only sell by the ton, i cant just add the 2foot boulder X my linear feet right? URGGHH IM LOST

White Gardens
07-22-2008, 06:22 PM
Around here, the local suppliers have a catagory of size. Unfortunatly they aren't all the same.

One range is 1.5 feet to 3 feet. So, I find the average and do my calculations with that. Unfortunatly you don't know how many boulders are in a ton, as each load will be different.

So, if you got more than one job to use boulders on, start with the smallest one so you can get an idea on have many pounds = linear feet. If you have any left over, no sweat, you'll just use the excess for the next job, and you'll have a better idea of how much to get.

It's ok to have some left over in the end, just call it inventory and try to sell them on another job, or just stick a few in your own yard.