View Full Version : pond aeretion

07-24-2008, 09:49 AM
Has anyone installed the fountains in larger ponds? If so, is there a lot involved or is it a simple procedure. A customer wants to add a fountain to there pond.

07-24-2008, 04:10 PM
Yes, depends on what type of fountain we're talking about.


07-24-2008, 07:26 PM
That I don't know. I haven't done one but a customer approached me about one.

07-24-2008, 10:12 PM
I have this one in my pond.


They have other styles too.

I had an electrician run a 230V line from the house to the edge of the pond. According to local electrical codes, there had to be a disconnect device at the pond. This is covered by one of those fake rocks.

The actual fountain can be held stationary using rope and cement blocks (at least 2 lines with them being 180 degrees apart) or the rope can extend to the pond edge. I chose option 2 so that I could pull it in to change lights, etc. My anchors are the twist-in dog stakes like:


Of course, one has to be careful fishing so that you don't snag one of the ropes.

XStream Aquatics
08-20-2008, 12:05 AM
We use Kasco and Otterbine. I'm not a certified electrician so I hire someone to run the 115 or 230v. It's not really that hard to install. We just put one in at Eddie Montgomerys (Montgomery Gentry) house last year on his 8 acre pond/lake. We had to use the mooring technique for anchoring it down due to jet skis being rode on the pond/lake. Some fountains are recommended to be taken out during the winter and this is kind of a pain in the butt. Make sure if you do take it out for winter that you use dielectric grease on the quick disconnects prior to putting it back into the water on the lights and main power cords.