PDA

View Full Version : Cat to B2 or not

buzzyng
07-25-2008, 03:40 AM
Have been looking at the some track loaders and have the following:

2007 247B, cab enclosed, bucket & forks, 400 hours, I think there is still some warranty left on it

2008 247B2, cab open, bucket, 0 hours

The used machine is $2000 cheaper with the cab and forks but has the hours.

The cab isn't a big deal for us but I've heard that I should get the B2 models if I can.

Your thoughts?

mellowyellow
07-25-2008, 04:48 AM
buzzyng---First off, I am by no means an expert, but I just went thru the buying process myself. When looking at loaders it is kind of like looking at farm tractors, as far as hours go it is hard to judge a machine on hours alone. one with 1000 hours that has been treated like a family member and taken care of and maintained is better than a 400 hour machine that has never been looked at or serviced. Next decide how much you need a enclosed cab. I found a really good deal on a 277 untill I found it had no A/C. I cant even think about being in a small enclosed cab in 105 heat and no air cond. If you go for the open cab are you going to get soaked in rain or covered in snow?
I got on caterpillars website and started looking at used ones. I found that there is a huge price difference in different parts of the country. I found mine in North Carolina and had it shipped to the nearest dealer (94 miles) about eight thousand cheaper than I could have found one here(Okla).
All that being said, the main thing I looked at was the undercarrage. I seen machines with 300 hours that looked pretty sad. I guess the bottom line is decide for sure what you want then look around and dont get in a hurry, there are some good ones out there with a few hours on them. If the 247b has a good undercarrage on it and air and heat I would have to give it some serious thought. Hope this Helps a little bit. Good luck,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,, mellowyellow

mellowyellow
07-25-2008, 05:09 AM