PDA

View Full Version : Redthread first: Then Nutsedge,Chickweed,Clover

CAPT Stream Rotar
07-26-2008, 05:19 PM
Alright everyone...

I live in New England in a very sandy soil climate...I just acquired a house with a disease ridden lawn...A first The redthread was rampant allover about 3/4 of the acre of this Kentuck bluegrass lawn..I determined the lack of nitrogen in my soil was a major factor in the abundance of the fungus..I studied it and resolved that a good shot of nitrogen to the lawn was the solution..

Well it was, the Redthread was gone...I work for a predominant tree company that does lawn care as well as irrigation..Well Today I mowed my grass an noticed the clover nutsedge and chickweed were all over now..

Does anyone have any suggestions as how to go about getting ahead on these problems? I do not have a sprayers license but a few of my buddies @ the company do....

Thanks in advance for any advice

xoxo csr

mngrassguy
07-26-2008, 07:02 PM
They should spray your lawn for free.

CAPT Stream Rotar
07-26-2008, 08:01 PM
They should spray your lawn for free.

with?

si vous plait

mngrassguy
07-26-2008, 09:33 PM
You say your company sprays lawns. I spray all my employees lawns for free. They should know what to spray it with. What are they using now? Are you going to request a herbicide they don't have or use? I would start with a good 3-way like Vessel but thats what I have here in Mn for use on Kentucky Bluegrass.

RigglePLC
07-27-2008, 12:59 PM
If it got red thread, chances are it is mostly perennial ryegrass. The fertilizer will reduce the clover--but for now, hit it with Trimec. Repeat as needed.

CAPT Stream Rotar
07-29-2008, 05:30 PM
thanks guys....

Ill see what they put down..

Hissing Cobra
07-29-2008, 11:05 PM