PDA

View Full Version : stone veneer wall question

shethinksmytractors_sexy
07-28-2008, 10:16 PM
well heres the deal, the customer wants a 12ft long wall by 3ft high. there will be two columns on both of the ends and we are putting 4x4 post through the middle of columns anchored into the ground because he is building a deck above. there will be a 12x10 paver patio at the foot of the wall also. i have NEVER done stone veneer before on a wall but i have done a couple fireplaces. this guy knows this but im goin to give it a shot because its a small job and i would like to do this in the future. my question is what should i do for backfill and drainage since im just using the regular masonry block to build the wall. i would assume its the same as any other segmented block wall. gravel and drain but just want to ask from someone who has experience. any advice will help. thanks!!!

AJ Lawnscapes
07-28-2008, 10:41 PM
I would do 4x6 or 6x6 for the posts, in case they ever want to put a hot tub on that deck.

MarcusLndscp
07-28-2008, 10:56 PM
Stone,fabric, pipe .......same deal as usual. My one concern in what you wrote is that you're putting a post through the column??? My recomendation would be to put your post on top of the column to avoid rot of your post long term and water entering the cavity of the column. You're just asking for a world of problems by encasing wood with masonry outdoors. Even when you're doing interior masonry over wood there are certain measures you need to take to avoid problems.

Oasis-Outdoor
07-28-2008, 11:03 PM