PDA

View Full Version : Old People

Icepuck72
07-31-2008, 05:57 PM
Is it just me, are they a major pain? I just dropped an old lady this morning because she is a major PITA.

Long story short, 2 months ago she responded to my ad, went out did the estimate, easily a $50 yard with trimming, edging and blowing. Said she couldn't afford it due to her husband passing 5 years ago and she's on social security. I felt bad, she said she could afford $30. Me being a nice guy, fell for it. Told her she's getting a really good deal and she totally agreed.

Explained to her I am a Firefighter, do my business part time, made her understand I would not be coming out the same day every week or every other week. It would be a day or two off, and I would let her know by phoning her. We agreed.

She called me up yesterday screaming at me...I'm not exaggerating here, asking why the lawn wasn't cut. I simply said, "Good luck finding someone cutting your lawn at $30, I will no longer be doing it. I guess that's what I get for being nice.

ambersLawnmowing
07-31-2008, 06:25 PM
We never cut on the same day. We set up a route every week, most of my customers are on ever 11 days some are weekly. The biggest thing i find wrong with this you left her because she yelled? man if i did that i wouldnt have any work. My customers, well not all of them but most of my gated ones think that i owe them the world. Tell you what as long as they pay me on time i will be there for the half hour or hour i am there. There is nothing good about droping a customer because she called once.Word of mouth is the best advertising and old people have big mouths and they never seem to forget things like this they may forget your name but never forget leaving them high and dry.

jkilov
07-31-2008, 06:43 PM