PDA

View Full Version : Rainbird 5000 Rotor Nozzle Selection

RCDuck
08-01-2008, 01:37 PM
I'm not an irrigation professional... just a homeowner looking for a little advice on my system.

I recently built a new home on o 1 acre. The home included an irrigation system installed by my builder's designated irrigation sub. For the most part, I think the system is adequate, but one thing that they did that doesn't make sense, is they installed the #3 nozzles on all of the rotor heads regardless of the arc pattern of the head. If my zones were laid out by arc pattern, I can understand how this could be workable by adjusting run times, but I have zones that are a mixture of arc patterns. For example, one zone has 2 full circles, 2 half circles, and 1 quarter circle. Why would I have the same nozzle on all of these heads?

The first thing I tried was the 30' MPR nozzles. I installed the F(ull), H(alf), and Q(uarter) nozzles accordingly, but it appears that the precip rate of the MPR nozzles is too high for what appears to be marginal pressure. The 30' full nozzles were only throwing about 22'. I hooked up a pressure guage to one of the head outlets and was reading about 30 psi when the zone was running.

My next plan is to go back to the standard blue nozzles which can have a lower precip rate, but selecting the nozzle #'s based on arc pattern. What would be a good starting point for nozzles for a mixed arc zone? My plan was to try the 1.5, 3, and 6 nozzles on the quarter, half, and full arcs respectively. Does that stand a chance of getting something workable as far as precip rate and throw distance?

Any advice is appreciated. I apologize in advance for being a homeowner meddling in the art/science (Which is it?) of irrigation, but I think I have a better chance of getting it the way I want it than trying to explain it and getting it implemented by my builder's selected irrigation contractor.

AI Inc
08-01-2008, 01:39 PM
[QUOTE=RCDuck;2446011]