PDA

View Full Version : Sprayers: JRCO or Lesco?

GILCS
08-03-2008, 06:21 PM
I'm just getting started looking at fertilizing equipment for next year, I have never fertilized before and am looking at 2 options right now. I will have a 50" Exmark riding mower and the JRCO zero turn sprayer attachment is looking very friendly right now. It seems this would be more consistant in spraying and faster than walking along with a hose and spraying a whole field or yard. The other option is getting a 200 gallon tank from Lesco with a 300 foot hose to put in the back of my truck.

The JRCO attachment is a bit more inexpensive and LOOKS easier for people just getting into the business. The only thing is, every commercial lawn mowing company in my area seems to use the big 200 gallon sprayers. Is this because they are so much better? Are more people using JRCO sprayers than I think? I don't have money to waste trying out each one to see which is better, what should I do?

LushGreenLawn
08-03-2008, 06:28 PM
The only thing I would caution against with the JRCO type sprayer, is they you will have to be sure you hit every spot on the lawn if you are spraying Fertilizer. It's like the difference between a Drop Spreader and a Broadcast Spreader. Have you ever seen a lawn after someone tried to fertilize it with a drop spreader?

If all your spraying is weed control, then its not as big a deal, you'll just have to make sure you get tight spots with a backpack where the sprayer won't reach, no different then a permagreen or something similer.

Jason Rose
08-03-2008, 06:53 PM