PDA

View Full Version : Pricing Sod Installation

merrimacmill
08-06-2008, 10:46 PM
Just wondering how everyone is pricing sod installations. I've never done one before, but got a request to do one. I would imagine that its done by the square foot, but how are you fuigering how much time it will take to do a square foot. I'm just having trouble with this since I've never laid sod before. The suppliers price that I use is about $.36 cents a square foot. $180 for a 500 square foot pallet. I haven't measured yet, but I think the jobs only going to be 500 to 700 square feet. So its not a big job. What are some of you guys getting a square foot for a sod job. Oh and the prep work of tearing up the old sod, dirt grading, etc will already be done. So I'm not trying to include that in my price. They simply want us to get the sod, deliver it, and lay it down.

Thanks for any help on this.

mybowtie
08-07-2008, 08:00 PM
If all the prep work is done, 2 guys should be able to lay 500-700 of sod in an hr. depending on how much cutting is needed..All depends on how far you have to go for the sod also..I would charge $.30-.40 a sq ft to lay + delivery....:usflag:

Lawnworks
08-07-2008, 09:17 PM
It is going to blow half a day... I would charge for whatever you usually get for half a day.

merrimacmill
08-08-2008, 01:37 AM
If all the prep work is done, 2 guys should be able to lay 500-700 of sod in an hr. depending on how much cutting is needed..All depends on how far you have to go for the sod also..I would charge $.30-.40 a sq ft to lay + delivery....:usflag:

Thats about what I was thinking. Went and measured it up today and came up with just under 500 square feet, like 487 or something. So I gave a price of 400 to lay 500 square feet which is just one pallet.

Any more input?

Thanks for the help so far.

mybowtie
08-08-2008, 11:11 PM
It is going to blow half a day... I would charge for whatever you usually get for half a day.