PDA

View Full Version : tree root damage from install?

justgeorge
08-12-2008, 05:05 PM
Had an install job back in the spring where I had to run the vib plow about 4' from an older cedar tree. Going thru there I raised the blade so I probably wasn't more than 6 or 8" down. I don't recall hitting any roots that I could "feel". Now the tree is dying and the customer's landscaper is blaming the irrigation install Quote "they might as
well have just taken a chain saw and cut the tree off".

Sure I cut some roots, but that far from the trunk and only down one side and only 8" deep I couldn't have hit more than 5% of the roots. But, I'm not a tree expert.

Thoughts?

George

CAPT Stream Rotar
08-12-2008, 05:07 PM
What were you installing 4 feet in the ground?

and yes I have personally seen it happen with some fruit trees.

DanaMac
08-12-2008, 05:08 PM
It's always the irrigation companies fault. Tree dies - our fault. Grass dies - our fault. Water in basement - our fault. Hole in the roof - our fault. Cracked concrete - our fault. Dead dog - our fault. I have had people askk me or accuse me of all the mentioned items here.

You could have been PART of the problem, but not all. As you said, you wouldn't have damaged enough roots to kill it.

DanaMac
08-12-2008, 05:10 PM
What were you installing 4 feet in the ground?

and yes I have personally seen it happen with some fruit trees.

I think he meant 4' AWAY from the tree.

BTW, what kind of tree, what size, how old?

Wet_Boots
08-12-2008, 05:40 PM
Evergreens aren't taproot trees, so you can do damage within a foot from the surface. If I have to pull within four feet of an older tree, I'll hope it's an oak.

Mike Leary
08-12-2008, 05:48 PM
Never trench across a drip line, trench into the tree very carefully. You might be libel. :cry:

BrandonV
08-12-2008, 05:53 PM