PDA

View Full Version : is this to be expected??

dingybigfoot
08-14-2008, 07:37 PM
hey!
I'm new to the biz. this is my first season.
anyways..
i got a call today from a customer that i serviced a month ago. ( about 2500sqft in the back and 16 in the front.
basically a one and done guy. from servicing him last month i figured him out to be a pita. i wanted to get him on a weekly schedule. he wasn't interested. i called him 6 days after i serviced him asking if he would like me to come out. He wasn't interested.
he calls me today askin if i can cut his lawn today. i asked him if its been serviced since i did it. he says no.
we've had alot of rain this season. record breaking summer.
i quote him $80. he starts crying. tells me he'll find someone else
and hangs up. 10 minutes later he's calling me back. i didn't answer. based on my first experience with him a month ago i figured its not worth the stress.
are a lot of potential customers like this??

bigcountry01
08-14-2008, 07:50 PM
You will learn not to fool with people like that. He might be good for a quick buck but i promise you if someone underbid you by $2 he would drop you without question.

ALC-GregH
08-14-2008, 07:52 PM
I would have told him I'd be glad to do it for a additional charge. I'm going to assume the $80 was more then what your weekly would be correct? If so, why didn't you answer the phone? So what if he's a pita, he has money that he's willing to give you to do the job. He was probably going to have you mow it for the price you told him. I wish I could afford to NOT answer the phone, even if it's a pita customer.

My advice, call him back and get the job. If you don't someone else will.

Charles
08-14-2008, 08:10 PM
Really depends on how high the grass is and how big the high grass yard is. What type of grass it is. How desperate you are. I would want up front cash money on high grass. If you don't think you could do a good job on it for $80, then don't take it.