PDA

View Full Version : where to buy xmas lights direct

shade tree landscaping
08-15-2008, 09:03 PM
where do you guys go to buy your lights wholesale? I have never done the lights before other than my own home but want to get into it this year. Someplace that has a catalog that I can show customers would be great! I have looked online but I dont know what "professional" grade and whats homeowner grade when it comes to x-mas lights. Thanks in advance, any and all help/info is appreaciated

David Gretzmier
08-16-2008, 01:21 AM
read through the posts here and you'll find several companies to buy from . I'm a Holiday Bright Lights guy, they are in Omaha, Nebraska. Mike marlow is their rep. they are online and I believe they have the best stuff at pretty good prices. good luck- :waving:

hotrod1965
08-16-2008, 11:36 AM
I personally like to take actual lights out, not a catalog, it will give folks a real life look at your products. I also like to take out big box store lights to compare the difference. But HBL does have a nice catalog so does Creative Displays.

Wholesale price can also varry depending on your volume over the year. I personally buy direct from import companies, this skips the middle man, which means I can sell at wholesale.

As far as grade, you want to look at the wire gage.(i wont be much help for incandescent info) For LED the commercial grade lights are rectified and have coaxle connectors. They are water tight and won't pull apart. They are expensive, but will last for 20 years.
There are a bunch of different residential grade LEd sets, most of which are not very good. We carry two different brands, both which are rectified, one has sealed bulbs, the other you can make custom strands with by moving the bulbs around. We also have the sealed sets not retified for less money. All our sets have a three year warranty and are built with heavier wire.