PDA

View Full Version : a question about pondless...

jdmcat
08-17-2008, 06:23 PM
Ok, I am planning on building a pondless cascading waterfall/stream next to my front porch. I have never built a water feature before but I feel I have a good idea about how it needs to be done. It will be about 7-8 feet long and about 3 feet high, with two or three short drops. I am also planning on putting in an auto fill float valve connected to a new zone on my sprinkler system, that way if for some reason the float sticks, I won't flood my yard.

My question is this: Do I need to filter the water if there is no pond, and thus no fish? I would think that with the water wouldn't get stagnant since it will be constantly moving. If I am wrong, can I just put some chemicals in the water to keep it clear? Honestly I am just trying to save myself the 200 bucks HD wants for the falls filter.

ANC Stone Creations
08-18-2008, 12:58 PM
You don't really need a filter for this system, I add a tee to the waterfall supply line with an extra valve for clean-out.
This way you turn off the waterfall valve and use your pump to pump out old water via extra valve.

jdmcat
08-18-2008, 04:01 PM
Cool, thanks for the reply! I was actually planning on doing just that so I could pump it out easily before winter, good to know I can save a few bucks on the filter. Thanks again!

XStream Aquatics
08-19-2008, 11:26 PM
Saving a few bucks isn't always the best way to go. A product I use on formal fountains is called Fountec Water Treatment