PDA

View Full Version : Install Sod in GA in August?? When shoud I and shouldn't I install sod here...??

andyslawncare
08-18-2008, 09:01 PM
Have a few clients with pending sod installation jobs... I'm new to the whole landscape installation thing (been doing mainly mowing etc...)

Please help!

Thank You

81Bronk36
08-18-2008, 09:42 PM
From what I understand you will be ok in Aug and Sod. Your lucky I have to seed Bermuda sometime in september! Thats gonna be pushing it!

ed2hess
08-18-2008, 10:05 PM
I wouldn't install in August unless they have irrigation....it will need to be watered constantly for a couple weeks. Most cities have restrictions.

dura to the max
08-18-2008, 10:08 PM
i agree to both posts. i too install sod in august, but it does need constant water. so you'll be ok, but i wouldnt warrant the sod itself, only the workmanship.

kleankutslawn
08-18-2008, 10:14 PM
in most areas,water restrictions don't apply to new sod installations

dura to the max
08-18-2008, 10:17 PM

you sure about this? i havent heard of this exception. would be a great thing to tell customers. what about lawn renovations?

billslawn89
08-18-2008, 10:33 PM

right! here in florida, with new installs, or newly planted lawns/landscapes, you can water daily for up to 60 days, but before 8am and after 6pm, at least in my area.

Tadams
08-18-2008, 10:48 PM
What kind of sod are you putting down? You can put bermuda anytime of the year- even if it is dormant.

cgaengineer
08-19-2008, 08:18 AM
I did bermuda sod in September last year and it did fine. As long as you can water it you should be ok too. I had to truck in water as we were in severe drought then last year.

brucec32
08-27-2008, 08:20 PM