PDA

View Full Version : Toro Dingo vs Bobcat MT

PerfiCut L&L
08-19-2008, 08:17 PM
We've always used the toro dingos on our jobs and so far they have held their own. We were looking to buy one but ran across a bobcat MT50 with 400 hours for what looks like a good price $7500.

I have no experience with the bobcats and was hoping I could find some input here. Whats your experience with these machines, and how would compare them to the toros?

Edgewater
08-19-2008, 08:58 PM
I have not used one long enough to see how they hold up, but I find that they tip with slightly less weight than a dingo, and the ground speed is slower.

Lite4
08-19-2008, 09:17 PM
I have used them both. The dingo is a far superior machine in functionality and lifting capacity.

Summit L & D
08-19-2008, 10:17 PM
I spent extensive time demoing both the Dingo 525 and 425, and the Bobcat MT 55 & 52. We decided to go with the Bobcat MT55. I felt that it was a heavier duty machine all the way around.

Here are a few of the things that I really like about the Bobcat:
-Hand Controls are SO much easier to use (you can drive the machine with one hand)
-Much stronger lifting arms
-Tracks are harder to throw, and seen to be much more durable
-Flat out more powerful
-The hinge pins on the bucket don't catch and hold dirt like the dingos
-The mounting plate has over twice the surface area of the dingo style mounting plate, thus giving the bucket/attachment even more strength

And some things that I don't like:
-Platform really stinks in loose dirt (it tends to dig into the ground, propping up the back of the machine)
-The back end does seem to be a little bit on the light side
-Some of the grease fittings are pretty hard to get to
-I can't buy standard attachments (attachments have to be Bobcat specific)

Overall, I'd still take the Bobcat over anything else.

PatriotLandscape
08-20-2008, 07:14 AM